老化藝術家的眼睛發生了什麼?

出版: 2017年08月01日
在輕微的視覺恐慌之後,我們被提醒眼睛的脆弱性 - 這些複雜的器官,讓我們體驗世界的所有視覺美女。而且,我們再次提醒,永遠不要把我們的寶貴願景視為理所當然的。但是,像身體的其餘部分一樣,眼睛隨著時間的推移而變老。
如果我們沒有傷害或疾病,我們的眼睛可能只會在我們年齡的情況下經歷輕微的變化,但即使這些小的變化也可能影響我們作為藝術家判斷色彩,光和黑的微妙之處的能力。
醫生邁克爾·馬莫爾(James Mabor)和詹姆斯·拉賓(James Rabin)寫道,他們的著作“藝術家之眼”(The Artist's Eyes)於2009年發表。他們廣泛的資歷和終身的藝術興趣使他們有獨特的能力來分析視力變化對某些歷史上最著名的藝術家。
關於老化的眼睛,他們寫道:“眼睛少了眼淚;角膜可能會失去一些清晰度;瞳孔在黑暗中保持較小;透鏡變得更厚,更緻密,更黃,彈性更差;視網膜每年都會損失一小部分神經細胞。 。 。和大腦一樣。因此,老年人的眼睛接收到稍微少一點的透光圖像,其清晰度和顏色光譜稍微不足,並且有更少的視網膜細胞來拾取圖像並且適當地為大腦編碼。”
這些條件往往導致較少的對比度辨別,並且在低照明條件下更難看到。在低光下,藍調和綠色變得更難區分。
然而,有趣的是,在良好的照明下,即使少量的透鏡變黃也不會影響我們比較顏色的能力,因為“我們對顏色的區分更多地取決於紅色,綠色和藍色的相對量,而不是絕對波長。 ”
令人驚奇的是,眼睛在我們的生命週期中執行將視覺信息傳遞給我們大腦的複雜任務是如何。畢竟,器官暴露於廣泛的陽光和高氧,不像我們的內臟。

What Happens to an Aging Artist’s Eyes?

Published: Tuesday 01 August, 2017
After a minor vision scare, we are reminded of the fragility of the eye–these complex organs which allow us to experience all the visual beauties of the world. And, we are reminded, once again, never to take our precious vision for granted. But, like the rest of the body, the eye ages with time.
If we remain free of injury or disease, our eyes may only experience slight changes as we age, but even these small changes may affect our abilities as artists to judge subtleties of color, light and dark.
Doctors Michael Marmor and James Rabin write about the aging eye of the artist in their book, The Artist’s Eyes, originally published in 2009. Their extensive credentials and lifelong interest in art give them a unique ability to analyze the effects of vision changes on some of the most famous artists throughout history.
About the aging eye, they write: “The eye makes fewer tears; the cornea may lose some clarity; the pupil stays smaller in both light and dark; the lens becomes thicker, denser, more yellow and less elastic; and the retina loses a small percentage of its nerve cells every year . . . as does the brain. Thus the elderly eye receives slightly less light transmits images of slightly less clarity and color spectrum, and there are fewer retinal cells to pick up the images and code them properly for the brain.”
These conditions tend to lead to less contrast discrimination and more difficulty seeing in low lighting conditions. Under low light, blues and greens can become more difficult to distinguish.
Interestingly, however, under good lighting, even a small amount of yellowing of our lenses may not affect our ability to compare colors, because “our discrimination of colors is based more on the relative amounts of red, green and blue than on absolute wavelength.”
It is amazing how well the eyes perform the complex tasks of relaying visual information to our brains over our lifetimes. They are, after all, organs exposed to extensive sunlight and high oxygen, unlike our internal organs.